Management Committee

The PhotoNext Management Commitee is the operative management body of the PhotoNext center. 

PhotoNext Management Committee members are the reference scientists of the 4 involved Departments (R. Gaudino - DET, D. Milanese, now substituted by D. Janner - DISAT, P. Maggiore - DIMEAS, and A. Godio - DIATI) plus the reference persons of each of the research groups involved in PhotoNext. The Committee is responsible for short term decision making to ensure effective running of the project. In particular, it coordinates all the day-to-day activities of the joint lab, including:

  • Organization of joint research activities
  • Joint dissemination events
  • Procurement, acquisition of the laboratory instruments, Who will be practically responsible for each new piece of equipment that will be acquired on PhotoNext
  • Rules on how to share the equipment (possibly also outside PhotoNext if required by other POLITO groups)

Prof. Roberto Gaudino, PhotoNext Coordinator

Dipartimento di Elettronica e Telecomunicazioni (DET)


Besides his role as the Project Coordinator, Roberto is also be the reference person for the fiber-optics telecommunication activities inside Photonext


Prof. Daniel Milanese, PhotoNext Vice-Coordinator

Now Full Professor at the University of Parma.

Previously he was at POLITO, in Dipartimento Scienza Applicata e Tecnologia (DISAT)


Daniel is also the reference person for the activities on fiber sensors, optical materials and specialty fibers. 

He can delegate Prof. Davide Janner to participate to the Management Committee.


Prof. Paolo Maggiore 

Dipartimento di Ingegneria Meccanica e Aerospaziale (DIMEAS)


Paolo is the reference person for the optical sensor applications in the Mechanical and Aerospace environments.

Prof. Alberto Godio

Dipartimento di Ingegneria dell'Ambiente, del Territorio e delle Infrastrutture  (DIATI)


Alberto is the reference person for the optical sensor applications in environmental monitoring.

Prof. Mariangela Gioannini

Dipartimento Elettronica e Telecomunicazioni (DET)


Mariangela is the reference person for the optical component area.


Ing. Massimo Olivero


Massimo is the current key Senior Technician in the lab.

Prof. Marco Actis

Dipartimento Scienza Applicata e Tecnologia (DISAT)

Prof. Guido Perrone

Dipartimento Elettronica e Telecomunicazioni (DET)

Coordinator of the INFRA-P infrastructure FIP - "Fotonica in Piemonte"

Prof. Andrea Carena

Dipartimento Elettronica e Telecomunicazioni (DET)

He represents the OptCom Group

For further info, please follows the links below to the links to the PhotoNext Managers personal pages at POLITO.

Please follows the links below for the POLITO personal pages of the PhotoNext Management Committee members